How are the maps cached

User avatar
HappyF
Zonemaker
Posts: 188
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 10:53
Country: Sweden

How are the maps cached

Postby HappyF » 19 Feb 2015, 10:30

How many zoom-levels are cached? I assume that if I zoom out to show Sweden in the app, it will not cache all zoom-levels for all of Sweden?

User avatar
SunYour
Zone General
Posts: 2060
Joined: 29 Dec 2011, 00:56
Country: Sweden

Re: How are the maps cached

Postby SunYour » 19 Feb 2015, 10:35

You do not have unlimited space for storing satellite photos for the whole world, that is correct :-)
It stores it like a FIFO queue (First in, first out) i guess, where your phone sets the limit of the cache.

The size of the cache is found in the application overview. It is wise to cache the map while having WIFI, especially if you are visiting another country....
Mobile: Samsung S7| Location: Västerås / Stockholm

User avatar
HappyF
Zonemaker
Posts: 188
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 10:53
Country: Sweden

Re: How are the maps cached

Postby HappyF » 19 Feb 2015, 16:05

To rephrase my question, how do I ensure that the maps I want to use are cached even when I change zoomlevel? Do I have to look at the entire area I want to Turf in on the lowest zoomlevel to make sure it is stored locally or can I do that on a wider area?

User avatar
popeye
Posts: 79
Joined: 16 Jul 2012, 19:30
Country: Sweden

Re: How are the maps cached

Postby popeye » 19 Feb 2015, 17:39

I did a little test, selected a city that I'm going to visit, zoomed in an out on all turf-points.
Leaved Turf, deselected WiFi and mobildata (no connection to the world).
Started Turf again and zoomed in and out in my new area and it seems that I got the maps cached in all zoom-levels for a good turf session next time abroad ;)
Good job with cached maps ;)
Image

User avatar
HappyF
Zonemaker
Posts: 188
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 10:53
Country: Sweden

Re: How are the maps cached

Postby HappyF » 19 Feb 2015, 19:09

I also made a quick test today. My conclusion is that only what you see is what is cached. I.e. you have to zoom to the level you want to be saved and than pan around in the map over the area you want to be stored.


Return to “Supporter Beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest